_AND1811 (Medium).jpg
_AND1792 (Medium).jpg
_AND1786 (Medium).jpg

Cyprus, officially the Republic of Cyprus, is an island country located in the Eastern Mediterranean Sea. Cyprus is the third largest island and the most populous island in the Mediterranean, and a member of the European Union.


The earliest known human activity dates back to around the 10th Millennium BC. Archaeologically remains for this period include the well preserved Neolithic village of Khirokitia, and Cyprus is home to some of the oldest water wells in the world.


As a strategic location in the Middle East it was subsequently occupied by many major powers, including the Assyrians, Egyptians, and Persians, from whom the island was seized in 333BC by Alexander the Great. In 1571 the Ottomans for over 3 centuries remained in power.


Cyprus was placed under British administration until it was granted independence in 1960, becoming a member of the commonwealth the following year.  In 1974 the Turkish invaded the North of the Island for which today they still occupy.  Cyprus is a major tourist destination in the Mediterranean.


In 2004 The Republic of Cyprus joined the European Union and in 2008 they joined the Eurozone adopting the Euro currency.


Paphos with its pleasant harbor and medieval fort, combines a cosmopolitan holiday resort, spectacular countryside and historical sites.


It was the capital of CYPRUS for 600 years in ancient times and its archaeological legacy is such that UNESCO put the whole town on its world Cultural Heritage list.


The intricate floor mosaics in villas dating back to the roman period depicting scenes from Greek mythology are considered among the finest in the eastern Mediterranean.


Equally impressive are the underground Tombs of the Kings carved out of solid rock and decorated with Doric pillars.


The museum at Maa-Paleokastro near Coral Bay has an interesting collection of artifacts from the period of Mycenaean Greek colonization of Cyprus.